New and Changed Airports

All Events details will be posted here.

Moderator: UAL008 Kevin Finch

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » September 11th, 2019, 2:39 pm

FS9, FSX and P3D are notorious for having outdated scenery databases. That means you might fly to an airport that has added or closed runways, rendering your charts and FMC useless. And, new airports open and they are not in the sim when you get there.

The ICAO Airport Code databases can equally be out-of-date.

XPlane may be more current but I don't know because I don't use it.

If you're planning a flight and the ICAO code you enter isn't recognized - either by your flight planning software, your sim or ACARS - visit this Wikipedia site for a list of ICAO codes: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ICAO_airport_code. Many of the changed airports have an annotation showing an ICAO code that your planner/sim/ACARS might recognize. Use whichever code works in your software and put a note in the comments about the substitution you made. That way, you hub managers will know that you did not fly into the wrong airport.

Let's use this thread to advise one another about changed airports and what we do to rectify the situation. Please use my next post as an example of how these updates can appear.

To keep things simple, let's try to keep each response about one airport - don't mix six airports in one post. And, if you have another solution over and above what has been posted, make it a reply to that response.
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » September 11th, 2019, 2:46 pm

ISTANBUL, TURKEY LTFM is the new Istanbul airport

Istanbul's LTBA Ataturk has all but ceased operation; only GA, cargo and VIP flights are using it now and it will completely shut down in 2020. The new Istanbul airport is LTFM.

Turkish Virtual Airlines (TVA) has freeware scenery available for FSX, P3D v4.3 and XP10/11 at https://turkishvirtual.com/turkishvirtu ... cenery.asp.

***UPDATE*** An update to the P3DV4 scenery is at https://library.avsim.net/download.php?DLID=218332 I didn't see anything about newer versions for other sims.
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » September 11th, 2019, 2:53 pm

BANGKOK, THAILAND - VTBS not in default P3D scenery

Thanks to UAL426 John Bullock for bringing this to my attention... The Star Alliance Tour spreadsheet has been updated to reflect the changes in Bangkok; this also affects the Southeast Asia tour.

Try this 2014 AFCAD from AVSIM: https://library.avsim.net/esearch.php?C ... LID=182290

FS9 users could look at https://library.avsim.net/esearch.php?C ... LID=147393
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » November 14th, 2019, 12:22 am

NEW BEIJING AIRPORT... Beijing Daxing International Airport (ZBAD) is 65 kilometres (40 mi) south of Beijing Capital International Airport (ZBAA). It will be a hub for SkyTeam alliance airlines and some Oneworld members, while Star Alliance members will stay at Beijing Capital International Airport (with the exception of LOT Polish Airlines, which will serve Daxing as well). Star Alliance member Air China will also operate some flights from ZBAD, according to Wikipedia.

P3D fliers can find an AFCAD at https://library.avsim.net/download.php?DLID=212240

Chinese developer BRIDGE has released a payware scenery of Beijing Daxing Airport (ZBAD) scenery for Prepar3D v3 and v4; it's available at Simmarket. There's a free map of the BRIDGE for the QW787 available at https://library.avsim.net/download.php?DLID=213480
Image
Image

UAL905 MARK DI DOMENICO
Posts: 28
Joined: November 14th, 2019, 12:28 am

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL905 MARK DI DOMENICO » May 8th, 2020, 1:39 pm

ORNI - Al Najaf International Airport is not in the FSX airport database.

Could not find an alternate ICAO code.

This is one of the stops on the Ancient Wonders tour.

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » May 10th, 2020, 4:46 am

Yikes, looks like FSX is the odd man out!

ORNI loaded fine in P3D (which usually mirrors FSX).

As well, I found scenery for X-Plane (https://gateway.x-plane.com/scenery/page/ORNI), FS9 (https://library.avsim.net/download.php?DLID=184709) and P3D (http://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/fslib.php ... _p3dv4.zip). Perhaps the FS9 or P3D will work in FSX.

If not, fly to Bagdhad (ORBI) instead of ORNI, include a PIREP comment noting you have permission for the diversion.
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » May 30th, 2020, 10:22 pm

LIMA, PERU - Jorge Chávez International Airport (IATA: LIM, ICAO: SPJC, formerly SPIM), (Aeropuerto Internacional Jorge Chávez), is Peru's main international and domestic airport; FS9/FSX/P3D still use the SPIM designator. In P3D, SPJC is a small, high mountain dirt airstrip.
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » August 14th, 2020, 10:47 pm

Substitutions in Africa 2 Tour

Johannesburg may appear as FAOR or FAJS in your sim, ACARS, planning software, etc. FAOR is preferred but FAJS is acceptable.

Lusaka may appear as FLLS or FLKK in your sim, ACARS, planning software, etc. FLKK is preferred but FLSS is acceptable

Harare may appear as FVRG or FVHA in your sim, ACARS, planning software, etc. FVRG is preferred but FVHA is acceptable

Thanks to UAL435 - Rich del Secco for pointing out the discrepancies between current ICAO codes and those in his sim.
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » September 4th, 2020, 9:18 am

Quito, Ecuador - SEQM

This does not exist in MS/Lockheed based sims; you'll need to download freeware or payware to put an airport where SEQM should be.

Freeware option: https://library.avsim.net/download.php?DLID=216945 The install looks daunting but only because the scenery maker gave you a lot of options. At the end of the day, it's a pretty standard install if you read the readme - html version - file.

Payware option: https://www.flightbeam.net/seqm.html/ by Flightbeam; they never disappoint...
Image
Image

UAL008 Kevin Finch
VP Events
Posts: 456
Joined: April 25th, 2016, 11:52 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: New and Changed Airports

Post by UAL008 Kevin Finch » September 13th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Makassar, Indonesia - WAAA This is part of the Ring of Fire tour...

Runways 03/21 are missing in P3Dv4 and I assume in FS9/FSX/P3Dv1-3; can't vouch for P3Dv5 or MSFS or XPlane.

I did a search in AVSIM and found a group of Indonesian/Salewi airports that includes WAAA.
Image
Image

Post Reply